grshaw

Posted Sat Mar 31, 2018 9:29 am

Hi there.

I have just got back into Amiga ownership after a gap of some 25 years.

I first bought an Amiga 500 when I was 16 years old in 1988. Here in the UK they were selling for £400 back then. I saved up many weeks worth of pocket money to be be able to afford that. But the excitement of that day still lives with me.

After a couple of years I upgraded to an A1500 and used my first years Student Loan to buy a hard disk. I think it was a 200 MB GVP disk on a Zorro-II card but my memory is definitely hazy. I loved that A1500. It was an awesome machine. It was networked via a Null Modem cable in my University Halls of Residence. Ethernet was still an expensive option back in 1992. Speed was 19.2Kbps. Not bad.

I learned to program on Amigas. First with C and then C++. As a Professional Computer Programmer I owe them a lot.

I sold my Amiga 1500 when it became obvious that Commodore were unwilling to invest sufficiently to keep pace with PC. Even at the time I was sad to say goodbye.

Now, I have reached a point in my life were I am feeling really Nostalgic about those Amigas in my youth.

I have purchased a really nice Amiga 1200 off eBay and powered it up for first time two days back. It’s in really nice condition with only a small amount of yellowing to the top row of keys.

I plan to get WHDLoad working on this machine. I do have a question. What extra stuff am I going to need to install to get a WHDLoad system working for a good range of games. Looks like I will need a trapdoor accelerator. Should I go for an ACA 1233n or the cheaper ACA 1221ec?

intric8
Seattle, WA, USA

Posted Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:16 pm

Hi grshaw,

Welcome to AmigaLove and thanks for walking us through those memories. Very cool indeed.