Hi!

BloodyCactus
Lexington VA

Posted Wed Apr 04, 2018 9:06 am

Heyups! I'm BloodyCactus... One of those crazy Australians now living in East Coast USA. Commodore was a great figurehead in my childhood.. C64s, 128s, Amigas..

Life being so crazy, I have been sitting on and hoarding my bounty for the last 5 years but soooon, so very soon, I will be building my GBA1000 board, and will be back into having a physical Amiga once more (I have morphos on a g4 mini but... its not the same as a A1K!)

Right now I'm probably not going to do the 68060, Thylacine USB, and PicassoII boards for the gba, I have all the pcbs and parts, but I think I'll be stock 68030/50mhz+68882 for a while. I have no great rush to need an 060, and not really sure what I'd do with the usb (maybe it would make file transfer easier...)

I'm keeping an eye out for a nice 1084s D1, but I have a multisync LCD that can do 15khz.. But the D1 can do 80columns mode of the C128, other 1084s modes cannot do that.. It would be nice to get rid of the 1902A and have one monitor..

EzdineG
Springfield, MO

Posted Wed Apr 04, 2018 5:24 pm

Welcome to the board, sir!

It would be great to hear your story once you've completed the build. I've been considering building a BGA1000 board myself. The main detractor for me would be gathering the parts; can they still be reasonably attained today?

As I've discovered, even with a 68030, IDE and some RAM the A1000 is still severely hobbled by the lack of chip RAM. Would be nice to have the opportunity to use more.

Good luck!

BloodyCactus
Lexington VA

Posted Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:03 am

Thanks mate! Im going to try and document my GBA1k build, since its pretty involved. I need to roughly

- sort thousands of components
- create checklist from bom
- build mobo
- flash all gals + lsi
- rebuild + recap a1k psu
- check/clean/rebuild floppy drive
- cleanup a1k case