Amiga and Commodore news and topics not covered in the other forums
User avatar
intric8
Site Admin
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:49 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Getting The Amiga 500 Online – The You’re Not Stupid Gui

by intric8 Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:32 pm

Oh, and AT commands work exactly like they should. That being said, your phone number aliases are fine, too. I'll probably utilize the phone book later on and eliminate the need to use the dial window altogether later.

Good times! <3
User avatar
Shot97
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 8:01 pm
Location: Detroit, MI, USA

Re: Getting The Amiga 500 Online – The You’re Not Stupid Gui

by Shot97 Sat Feb 18, 2017 1:16 am

Image

There! You people happy now?! God damn that was a pain in my ass! :P Was cool to finally get on Centronian there. How does it look compared to the 64?
alterus
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:59 am
Location: Victoria, BC

Re: Getting The Amiga 500 Online – The You’re Not Stupid Gui

by alterus Sat Feb 18, 2017 1:53 am

Shot97 wrote:How does it look compared to the 64?


Nice work!! I verified your account already Shot97, (I'm the sysop) so you can post in the subs and see all sections of the BBS etc. The screen shots above look close to how it looks on a C64, but some of the characters and colours are off. Those art screens look off because you are in lower case mode. If you can switch your term to upper case mode then they will look MUCH nicer! No random letters etc, only the proper shapes. I can force that to happen automatically.... I'll try and do that this weekend. Anyway, welcome aboard!
User avatar
Shot97
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 8:01 pm
Location: Detroit, MI, USA

Re: Getting The Amiga 500 Online – The You’re Not Stupid Gui

by Shot97 Sat Feb 18, 2017 2:40 am

Cool! I'm pretty much just feeling my way through all this stuff, which is why it's such a pain! My issues with the C64 terminal emulators on the Amiga seem to have been from my default setups of TCPSer. Getting the most out of the A-Talk III and the ANSI boards, as well as keeping the terminals and other Workbench utilities that need the serial port happy with each other was my problem. The C64 emulators are not happy with everything else. They need their own special batch file for TCPSer; putting it on the hard drive seems out of the question because I'm not going down to 9600 baud just for the C64 terminal when everything else runs at 19200. Which means booting from floppy. Plus I couldn't input anything into the terminals at first. Why? Because TCPSer needs to be running at the right settings first! Then I can type in the AT commands! It's all very much a pain for someone who was not doing this stuff back in the day. But hopefully I can figure out how to make things looks better, and now I'm more confident, so I can try some more 64 terminal emulators to see if they might be better.
User avatar
intric8
Site Admin
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:49 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Getting The Amiga 500 Online – The You’re Not Stupid Gui

by intric8 Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:42 am

Dude, Shot, that's so awesome! I've been sick so I've not been at normal speed. So cool to see the progress you've made.
User avatar
Zippy Zapp
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:12 pm
Location: CA, USA

Re: Getting The Amiga 500 Online – The You’re Not Stupid Gui

by Zippy Zapp Sat Feb 18, 2017 8:49 pm

Nice Work!

Shot97 wrote:It's all very much a pain for someone who was not doing this stuff back in the day. But hopefully I can figure out how to make things looks better, and now I'm more confident, so I can try some more 64 terminal emulators to see if they might be better.

Heh, that's ok, that is what it is supposed to be like. I was cruising the local BBS's in 1983 on my C64 at 300 baud. It was so slow but back then you really didn't think about it as that was what it was. Half the fun was trying to figure it all out. So if it seems like a pain, then you are probably doing something right! haha

In the Amiga days we had faster speed by then 1200 to 2400 then I eventually bought a 14400 modem, which I still have with the Amiga.

ANSI, PETSCII and all the terminal settings + transfer protocols, like XModem, Ymodem, Zmodem ahh fun stuff figuring it all out especially since there was usually no cheat sheets or dummy guides on how and when to use all the different features. Plus there were so many choices for term software that it made it even more fun downloading a new terminal and figuring it out.

Good Stuff!

This is why I am hoping Jim Drew releases his WiModem sooner rather then later as it will make this stuff a little bit easier. No TCPSer or NULL modem cables.
Return to The Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest