intric8
Seattle, WA, USA

Posted Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:13 pm

Now look, I realize this is kinda goofy. I just got a NOS boxed copy of GEOS128.

And I can hear a lot of you asking, "Why the hell would you buy GEOS when you can find it for free online?" Great question. Valid question.

On the one hand my excuse is a practical one. I have a C128Dcr I'm still learning how to use, and getting original disk images to physical floppies took me a weekend to figure out thanks to a ton of help from Mitchell Dayton. (I'm still not able to write D71 images but I soon will - but that's a discussion for another day, though.)

On the other hand there is some stuff I really prefer to have the original, physical copy of that I can pick up. Looking at the box and flipping through the manuals sort of tricks my brain into imagining what it must have felt like back in 1986 had I been so lucky to have this software back then. It's sort of a mental Delorean.

I've been thinking about this for a long time and I've boiled it down to a bumper sticker philosophy.

Retro is a fountain of youth for the soul.

And having physical objects from BITD trigger that internal reward faster and more deeply for me.

Anyhoo, check out my latest acquisition: GEOS 128!
IMG_8571.jpg
There's a little bit of water/coffee damage on the box sleeve, but the rest is 100% minty mint. I have no idea what those big numbers on the side of the front cover were for, unless they are a Zip Code for Santa Cruz, CA (?). Note the pile of C128-specific games in 80 column glory made by a friend of mine at the last Seattle Commodore Computer Club.

IMG_8572.jpg
Still in its original sealed bags. Ooh! And Quantum Link! :)

GEOS128 comes on floppy and will auto-boot the disk when inserted into a C128's drive. No "Load..." typing here. Many 128-mode programs can auto-boot, too.
IMG_8573.jpg
There's 1980s air in here!

IMG_8574.jpg