SnkBitten
South Carolina

Posted Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:11 pm

Amithlon, what really should have been the next step for AmigaOS. This was designed as a stepping stone to hopefully move AmigaOS from 68k to x86 that ended up in lawsuits and copyright issues eventually killing the entire thing.

I started playing in WinUAE after the Amiga 30th and enjoyed it immensely. It reminded me of how much I loved AmigaOS and hated moving to Windows all those years ago. It ran fast, allowed me high resolution and high color screens and reminded me how much I missed AmigaOS (plus how much I had forgotten how to use it...lol ). As I read about emulating Amigas I kept seeing references to something called Amithlon, and that this Amithlon was fast...like very fast. It used old PC hardware.."hey..I have old PC hardware sitting around, maybe some of it would work."

Tracking down Amithlon I finally was ready to give it a whirl. The CD booted on one of my old unused systems.....but I couldn't do much. Screenmodes were locked, it was a small 9MB Workbench Sys: volume.....how do you get this thing installed? Reading more on Amithlon I found a few guides that were generally helpful but not detailed enough to make it easy and straightforward. Plus I didn't want "dual boot" setups, I just wanted a box that was like an Amiga.

The biggest issue was what hardware worked. A lot actually works but in limited functions, ie...you could get it installed on most computers with 1 GB of ram and IDE drives but then you couldn't have audio or networking or hardware accelerated graphics, just your standard VESA modes (though these are still faster than most Amiga RTG cards).